RI.gov RI Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

The Garden of Heroes

Garden of Heroes

The Garden of Heroes, located at the southwest lawn of the State House, was officially named “The Garden of Heroes” through legislation introduced at the request of Lieutenant Governor Charles J. Fogarty and sponsored by Senate Majority Leader M. Teresa Paiva-Weed and House Majority Leader Gordon D. Fox. The legislation was signed into law June 22, 2004 by Governor Donald L. Carcieri. Lt. Governor Elizabeth Roberts has pledged her commitment to the continued care and support of the Garden.

On October 23rd 2005 The Garden of Heroes was officially dedicated to “Rhode Island Service Members Who Made the Ultimate Sacrifice during Operations In Support of the Global War on Terrorism Since September 11, 2001.” On that day, 14 Service members were honored.

The most recent Remembrance Ceremony on September 15, 2012 honored the memory of:


SGT Dennis P. Weichel, Jr., Army National Guard
29, of Providence, R.I. Died in a non-combat related incident on March 22, 2012 in the Laghman province of Afghanistan. Spc. Weichel was assigned to the 1st Battalion, 143rd Infantry Regiment, 56th Troop Command, Rhode Island National Guard in East Greenwich.



L/CPL Abraham Tarwoe, Marine Corps
25, of Providence, R.I. Died April 12, 2012 while conducting combat operations in the Hemland Province of Afghanistan. L/CPL Tarwoe was a mortarman with 2nd Battalion, 9th Marine Regiment, 2nd Marine Division, based out of Camp Lejeune, North Carolina. Tarwoe joined the Marine Corps in 2009 and was promoted to Lance Corporal in August of 2010.


The Memorial Stone now bears the names of 27 soldiers in all:

1. SGT Gregory A. Belanger, Army Reserve
2. SSG Joseph Camara, Army National Guard
3. SGT Charles T. Caldwell, Army National Guard
4. SPC Michael Andrade, Army National Guard
5. CW5 Sharon T. Swartworth, Army
6. CPT Matthew J. August, Army
7. SFC Curtis Mancini, Army Reserve
8. MSG Richard L. Ferguson, Army
9. L/Cpl Matthew K. Serio, Marine Corps
10. CPT Christopher S. Cash, Army
11. L/Cpl John J. Van Gyzen IV, Marine Corps
12. SSG Christopher S. Potts, Army National Guard
13. L/Cpl Holly A. Charette, Marine Corps
14. 2LT Matthew S. Coutu, Army
15. SGT Dennis J. Flanagan, Army
16. SGT Brian R. St. Germain, Marine Corps
17. SSG Dale James Kelly, Jr. Army National Guard
18. SGT Moises Jazmin, Army
19. SGT Michael R. Weidemann, Army
20. PS3 Ronald A. Gill, Jr., Coast Guard
21. LTJG Francis L. Toner IV, Navy
22. PFC Kyle J. Coutu, Marines
23. SGT Michael F. Paranzino, Army
24. SPC Dennis C. Poulin, Army National Guard
25. L/Cpl Nickolas D. Schiavoni, Marine Corps
26. SGT Dennis P. Weichel, Jr., Army National Guard
27. L/Cpl Abraham Tarwoe, Marine Corps